Pfarrkirche zur Heiligen Theresia von Lisieux

Share

Pfarrkirche zur Heiligen Theresia von Lisieux

While the construction of the railway line in Langen am Arlberg had been very busy, numerous railway worker families remained in the town even after the opening in 1884. Soon efforts began to set up their own school in Langen am Arlberg. A desire that was finally granted in the 1920s.

The efforts to build a church in Langen am Arlberg, which found a special sponsor in Bishop Sigismund Waitz, date back to that time. He also tried pastoral theological considerations of the "railway population" to give special pastoral attention. After an emergency chapel had been set up in 1928 at the new school, pastors Adolf Zech and Bishop Waitz did everything in their power to bring about the construction of the church. As a patron, the so-called "little St. Theresa" was chosen, the Carmelite, who died in 1897 and was only canonized in 1925.

The Innsbruck architect Hans Feßler provided the plans for the planned as Expositur- and also pilgrimage church in honor of St. Theresa church. The terrain made some difficulties, which is why the little church caused great interest in its architecture and surroundings. As a result of the nearby train station rose the new Theresienkirche after its consecration in 1930 quickly become a popular place of pilgrimage. Numerous wedding couples also joined the union in Langen am Arlberg.

Inside the church, a mighty crucifix adorns the altar wall, assisted by the figures of St. Mary and St. John. Particularly beautiful are the stained glass to designs by Rudolf Stolz. For example, the incident light makes the circular depiction of the patron of the church very beautiful.

Opposite the Expositurkirche is the 1936 erected monument to the workers killed in the construction of the Arlberg tunnel. This also expresses the close connection of the place with the Arlbergbahn.

More information

Pfarrkirche zur Heiligen Theresia von Lisieux

Teilen

Pfarrkirche zur Heiligen Theresia von Lisieux

Hatte während des Baus der Bahnstrecke in Langen am Arlberg reges Leben geherrscht, so blieben auch nach der Eröffnung 1884 zahlreiche Bahnarbeiterfamilien im Ort. Schon bald setzten Bestrebungen ein, eine eigene Schule in Langen am Arlberg zu errichten. Ein Begehren, dem in den 1920er Jahren schließlich stattgegeben wurde.

Aus jener Zeit datieren auch die Bemühungen um einen Kirchenbau in Langen am Arlberg, die in Bischof Sigismund Waitz einen besonderen Förderer fanden. Er versuchte auch aus pastoraltheologischen Überlegungen der „Eisenbahnbevölkerung“ besondere seelsorgliche Aufmerksamkeit zukommen zu lassen. Nachdem 1928 bei der neuen Schule eine Notkapelle eingerichtet worden war, setzten Pfarrer Adolf Zech und Bischof Waitz alles daran, den Kirchenbau zu bewerkstelligen. Als Patronin wurde die so genannte „kleine heilige Theresia“ auserkoren, jene Karmeliterin, welche 1897 verstorben und erst 1925 heilig gesprochen worden war.

Der Innsbrucker Architekt Hans Feßler lieferte die Pläne für das als Expositur- und zugleich Wallfahrtskirche zu Ehren der Heiligen Theresia geplante Gotteshaus. Das Terrain machte dabei einige Schwierigkeiten, weshalb das Kirchlein ob seiner Architektur und seiner Umgebung großes Interesse hervorrief. Infolge der nahe gelegenen Bahnstation stieg die neue Theresienkirche nach ihrer Weihe 1930 rasch zu einem beliebten Wallfahrtsort auf. Auch zahlreiche Hochzeitspaare schlossen in Langen am Arlberg den Bund der Ehe.

Im Inneren der Kirche schmückt ein mächtiges Kruzifix die Altarwand, assistiert von den Figuren der Heiligen Maria und des Heiligen Johannes. Besonders hübsch sind die Glasmalereien nach Entwürfen von Rudolf Stolz. So lässt beispielsweise das einfallende Licht die kreisrunde Darstellung der Kirchenpatronin sehr schön zur Geltung kommen.

Gegenüber der Expositurkirche befindet sich das 1936 errichtete Denkmal für die beim Bau des Arlbergtunnels getöteten Arbeiter. Auch dieses bringt die enge Verbundenheit des Ortes mit der Arlbergbahn zum Ausdruck.

Mehr Informationen